Stefano Zaffagnini, MD (Orthopaedic surgery)

Sports Traumatology Department of Istituti Ortopedici Rizzoli, Bologna, Italy

Dr. Stefano Zaffagnini studied medicine at the University of Bologna from which he graduated in 1987. He completed his trauma and orthopaedics specialisation in 1992 and is now the 1st assistant orthopaedic surgeon in the Sports Traumatology Department of the Istituti Ortopedici Rizzoli in Bologna, Italy. He is also an orthopedic surgeon specialized in sports traumatology, knee and shoulder surgery, and arthroscopic surgery. He completed a Sport Medicine, Knee Surgery and Orthopedic Research. Fellowship with Prof F Fu and Prof S Woo in 1993 at the University of Pittsburgh, USA, and in 1997 was an ESSKA AOSSM travelling Fellow in the USA, visiting sports medicine medical centers in New York, London (Ontario), Richmond, Memphis, Atlanta, Cincinnati and San Francisco. Dr Zaffagnini has qualifications from all around Europe and the USA. From 1991 to 2016 he pubblished 244 articles on international journals (192 with impact factor).

Dr. Stefano Zaffagnini serves on several societies, Member of the Italian Society of Orthopeadics and Traumatology SIOT; Member of the Italian Society of Knee Arthroscopy, Sports Cartilage and Orthopeadic Technologies; Member of the the Italian Society of Arthroscopy SIA; Member of the Italian Orthopeadic Research Society IORS; Member of the American Academy of Orthopeadic Surgeons AAOS; Member of the American Orthopeadic Society of Sports Medicine AOSSM; Member of the European Society of Sports Knee Surgery and Arthroscopy ESSKA; Member of the International Cartilage Research Society ICRS; Member of the International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee and Orthopeadic Surgery ISAKOS. Researcher in “Diseases of Locomotor Apparatus” at Faculty of Medicine - University of Bologna; Associate Professor in “Orthopaedics and Traumatology” at Faculty of Medicine. From 01/04/2016 he is Full Professor in “Orthopaedics and Traumatology” at Faculty of Medicine.

Terms of Appointment: February 2017 - February 2019; March 2019 - February 2021